problems with my new aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

75Gal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I am very new to Salt water aquarium. I bought my first aquarium 6 month ago. It is 75gal with 4 small fishes and 70lb live rock now.

My aqurium started to have some purpule plant like on live rocks. Nitrate level (currently between 20 and 40 ppm) seems to be the problem. To reduce Nitrate amount, I started to change 20gal of water with tap water every other day but it doesn't seemto help.

Is there anything I should do to eliminate Nitrate?

Also, I see sand is being pumped into the aquarium. I checked and cleaned the bottom water container and its sponges where the water is being pumped from. There seems to be sand in there. What should I do to clean the container?

Also what is the purpose of scamer?

Please tell me what are the acronyms if you are going to use them in your replies.

Thanks

Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

First off... an acronym list can be found here...

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium & Reef Forum - FAQ: Acronyms and Abbreviations

... but I'll try not to use any!

Nitrates are the main reason folks do water changes. If you're doing 20g water changes (about 25%) every other day, you should see a reduction in nitrates. UNLESS... the water you're putting in has nitrates in it. You said you're using tap water (mixed with salt mix, I assume) for the water changes. Have you tested your tap water for nitrates? My guess is your tap water is your issue because if you were replacing 25% of the water with 0.0ppm nitrate water, you WILL see a reduction in the nitrate level.

Nasty stuff in tap water is a big reason many people invest in a RO/DI filter unit, or at least buy RO/DI (pure) water from their local fish store.