Tangs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cb24

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have some knowledge about tangs but I just wanna see what you guys know about them..I'm pretty sure you can only have one in the tank right? Cuz they will fight? Also is it the same deal if I put different types of tangs in the same tank? It's a 55g tank

Ya I was planning but would different types of tangs get along?

Like would a powder blue tang get along with a yellow tang?

With a large enough (and established) tank, yes multiple Tangs can co-exist. The idea is to keep a variety of different colors and body shapes. In a 55g, its a really bad idea and its not gonna work. I'd say minimum 6' tank for either of those.

I have some knowledge about tangs but I just wanna see what you guys know about them..I'm pretty sure you can only have one in the tank right? Cuz they will fight? Also is it the same deal if I put different types of tangs in the same tank? It's a 55g tank

The general rule is to mix long tangs( surgeonfish) with round tangs for a more harmonious tank or long tangs with long tangs. Mixing round tangs becomes iffy if you don't have enough space for them to get out of each other's way or they are of equal size. That being said, round tangs should go in last as they tend to be more aggressive to newcomers of any shape. Also, if kept in schools, they tend to be less aggressive due to the hierarchy system in place within the school. (This of course can run into a lot of $$$ and the need for a bigger tank.)

Hope this helps (y)