Wanting to start a salt water tank!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Crittercrazy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have never had a salt water tank before, I have always had freshwater. I currently have a 75gal and 55 gal freshwater setup. I would like to take the plunge(so to speak) into Salt water, but was thinking I would start small. I was thinking 10-20 gallon setup. Now since i have never done this before, I want to do it right from the start. Could you all give me info on what all i will need to get started???? also is 10-20 gal okay to start?? also what types of fish wuld be great for this size tank, and best for a beginner???

Thanks in advance for all your help!!:D

In my opinion, from what I have read in books and learned on this site, a 10-20gallon for just starting saltwater is too small and unstable. You should start off with at least a 30gallon. Why are you thinking only 10-20gallons? If you are thinking smaller is easier, that is not always the case with saltwater. You may want to consider converting your 55 or 75.

I agree, bigger is better. The more water volume will give you more room for error. Bad things happen a lot faster in smaller tanks.
Are you planning on having corals (reef) or fish only (FO) or fish only w/live rock (FOWLR)? Deciding on this will help to narrow down your critter selection.
liveaquaria.com is a good place to see some pics and learn about fish.
Check out our Articles http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/categories/Saltwater/Articles/ to help out further.

I agree, bigger is better. The more water volume will give you more room for error. Bad things happen a lot faster in smaller tanks.
Are you planning on having corals (reef) or fish only (FO) or fish only w/live rock (FOWLR)? Deciding on this will help to narrow down your critter selection.