Another newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

warpedscout

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all, been a while since I had fish and glad to find a site like this. This is the biggest tank I ever had, 36gal bow front. Did the 24 hr cycle per petsmart reps and now wish I had been here first.
Whole reason for tank is wife has stage 4 breast cancer and wants some color and life around. Currently we have 3 tetras, 2 glo fish and 2 Dalmatian mollies. The mollies have been kinda down the last 24 hours so I got a master kit and checked water, in tolerable levels. Pulled about 5 gal out and conditioned 5 to o in. They are kinda coming back so hope I am working that way. Also added some kosher salt and went from the cheap filter that cam with tank to a fluval u4. Bought extra pellets for bacteria bin and hope to get those thriving soon!
Have a pump working a coliseum with small air rock and a 8 strand of LEDs with air tube so I should have some oxygen in the water. I have them both on individual valves to cut them down some.
Wife also wanted live p,ants so we have a few in with a white sand bottom. Only been about 2 days so hopefully I won't kill these guys!
Will get pics up as possible.
Oh yeah, we also have a 6 month old bengal cat, and she has been eying the tank a few times. Have tank on stand with nothing around, but we keep a good watch on her. Till later...

Last edited:
Welcome to the hobby and the forums :)

Also, I'm very sorry to hear about the health problems :( But fish are a nice theraputic addition to a home, at least they are for me.

The fish are most likely just getting used to the new surroundings. It can take them a few days to get their act together. Just a quick tip though, 5 gallons isn't going to affect levels in a tank that size. Once you start getting readings of ammonia I would try a 50% change instead.