Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2012, 12:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
ATM Colony

Sorry if this is a repeat. I have just poured 12 oz of ATM Colony Freshwater into my 70 gallon tank. There is not much information on the bottle. It states: Adding additional dosages of ATM Colony Freshwater will accelerate the cycling process and the ...

It does not tell me when to add more of the Colony or how much to add.

Any advice?
__________________

__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,925
to AA!
Never used the stuff sorry can't help you on that one really. I would go off of how the water tests and adding after water changes
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
hmmmm....I was told not to touch the tank for water changes or cleaning for 4 weeks. This may drive me a little crazy, does it sound right to you?
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,925
Are you fish in or doing a fishless cycle?
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
Fish in, 9 swordtails...just read your articles. I was doing 25% water changes every day and Big Al's told me to stop!
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,925
With fish in cycles you should be doing water changes everyday depending on how it tests. If the ammonia gets over .25 you need to do a water change.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:38 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
Hi again. I did a 25% water change yesterday. Ammonia is still high at .50 but it's better since it was 1...should I do a larger water change or stick with 25%?
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:44 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,925
I would do a little more just to be safe you get it down to 0
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
Thank you for all your advice. Do we get to put initials after our name once we figure this all out???? ;o)
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snark
Thank you for all your advice. Do we get to put initials after our name once we figure this all out???? ;o)
What do you mean "initials"??
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:00 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
lol...like the initials that a chemist gets to put after his name ;o)
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:02 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
lol...like the initials a chemist gets to put after his name ;o)
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:07 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
Nope, But you can get a bumper sticker that reads "My fish lived"
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:14 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Posts: 8
hey!!! just tested my water....0 ppm ammonia.....ta da!!!!! Now I can get my cichlids ;o) and it was done in just over a week using parts of an old sponge filter and a bottle of colony.
__________________
Snark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:40 PM   #15
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
I'd attribute it to the old filter more than the colony stuff, but congrats nonetheless!
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
colony

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.