Cloudy water high ammonia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ednree549

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, I am new to the fish tank arena. I bought a 10 gallon fresh- filled with spring water, waited a few days then added fish. Stayed clear for about week. I now now should have cycled longer. Did a few water changes the 3 1/2 weeks I've had this tank. Think going through bloom but few fish have died, ammonia levels still spike. Should I clean tank and gravel really good and replace more water? Water smells, changed filter cartridge, put water safe in after partial water change. Don't know what else I should do.

:welcome: to AA! (y)

Your going through a fish in cycle and your high ammonia is due to insufficient PWC's since your don't have any bacteria established. What fish are in the tank and how many? That's important .. some fish have a larger bio-load than others. Start on 50% PWC's until you get your ammonia to below 0.25% ... closer to 0% Trash any test strips ... unreliable at best .... if you don't have one already, go with the API test master kit.

DO NOT replace the filter cartridge again ... that is where the majority of the bacteria will ultimately reside. By throwing it out, you essentially are starting over again. Only replace those cartridges when they are literally falling apart. Just swish them with tank water during PWC's to clean of solid waste debris. A white cloudiness is indicative of a bacterial bloom which is normal and are signs of bacteria colonizing into your tank, then they'll make their way into your filter.

The only chemicals you should have to add to your tank are water and a conditioner like seachem prime. Let us know the following info so we can better help you.

1. Tank stock
2. Type of filter / filtration
3. Water Temp
4. pH.
5. Ammonia, Nitrite & Nitrate.