Complete noob in over my head

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wetfarticus

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey all. My experience in the hobby is basically none. Family had a 20 gal freshwater tank when I was 16. My job was to name the fish and feed them. No experience gained there.
I recently bought one of those ridiculous Tetra 1.8 gal waterfall globes for my office. Got a Betta and Cory Catfish in it. It is loved by all my coworkers and yes, me too. It's just enough to allow the bug to bite me. So I recently bought a used (scary) 55 gal tank. According to the ad I answered, it came complete with all the pumps, filters, lights, etc. however, it only came with a tiny air pump that looks like it's better days are far behind it. So I basically need everything and I don't have a clue what to look for and how much it will cost. Financing this project will take some time. My vision was to have a nice freshwater planted setup. I have no idea how to do live plants or what fish to stock it with. But that is after I manage to figure out what gear I need and get the tank ready to fill and balance. I got a long road ahead and about a million questions. I hope y'all are patient with me as I need help. The folks at PetSmart are helpful but don't know as much as they seem.
Any advice is very appreciated.

Hey all. My experience in the hobby is basically none. Family had a 20 gal freshwater tank when I was 16. My job was to name the fish and feed them. No experience gained there.