Electric Blue Acara

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EBAfan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Aloha All,

Thought Id try this sight out as I often have questions and would love to hear what those of you with more experience might have to say. Like many of you Ive had aquariums since I was a kid. Now an adult in my 50s I still find the experience calming and relaxing.

My newest interest has been with the Electric Blue Acara..like many their appearance caught my eye right away. Ive been enjoying them for a few years now and my adults were once my newborn fry...

With a recent life change and moving of homes etc and being very busy Ive forgotten some of the habits of the EBA..is it the male that does the body "shake" or shimmy? The other ones ovipositor has become quite noticeable in the last day or two and this duo is hogging one portion of the tank...Im assuming something is going on, correct?

Aloha All,

Thought Id try this sight out as I often have questions and would love to hear what those of you with more experience might have to say. Like many of you Ive had aquariums since I was a kid. Now an adult in my 50s I still find the experience calming and relaxing.

My newest interest has been with the Electric Blue Acara..like many their appearance caught my eye right away. Ive been enjoying them for a few years now and my adults were once my newborn fry...

With a recent life change and moving of homes etc and being very busy Ive forgotten some of the habits of the EBA..is it the male that does the body "shake" or shimmy? The other ones ovipositor has become quite noticeable in the last day or two and this duo is hogging one portion of the tank...Im assuming something is going on, correct?
Mine recently spawned and this is the behavior they had. Yes, the male did the shimmying/shaking. You will probably have eggs soon