GouramiGal Introduction

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GouramiGal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Good day all! I am a mother of a 5 year old little boy who wants to spawn his gouramis for pocket money. I have found good advice on this forum in the past as a non-member about our little tank. :thanks: My intention in joining now is for some support to help my little guy out. I don't know anything about fish. I am a nursing student, my knowledge pertains to a totally different species! ;) Any advice or pearls of wisdom you have to spare will be taken into serious consideration and very much appreciated! Thank you!

Welcome to AA! Gouramis are bubble nest builders. The male will blow bubbles at the top of the tank, i believe some kinds of gouramis use plant matter in the nests so live plants would be needed. I also know each bubble can hold and egg, so expect tons of babies! Good luck, and i hope someone with more experience can chime in.

Welcome to AA! Gouramis are bubble nest builders. The male will blow bubbles at the top of the tank, i believe some kinds of gouramis use plant matter in the nests so live plants would be needed. I also know each bubble can hold and egg, so expect tons of babies! Good luck, and i hope someone with more experience can chime in.

Thank you! Actually, I was just looking at a thread you started and there was some very concise information there, so you have been a big help already! (y)

Everything bubbles said is correct. Here's my article on gourami breeding here it goes. BREEDING DWARF GOURAMI

Scientific name: Colisa lalia
Common name: Dwarf gourami
Max. size: 8.8 cm / 3.5 inches
pH range: 6.0 – 8.0
dH range: 5 - 19
Temperature range: 25 – 28°C / 77 – 82.5°F