Hello

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bookersktb

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am brand new to fish tanks but have become interested in them due a family member needing the "calming effects" of the tank sound and visual. We have a 60 gallon fresh water tank that has been running for one week now. We do not have any fish as of yet as we have read many different forums on how to get a tank started. Basically this tank will be a community tank and we are really researching every detail.

We care very much about the well being of the fish we will get. So I have some questions:

1. We plan on getting some Danios, Endler's Livebearers, Cory Cat and a few other fish. We were going to have some Tetras as well but noticed that the PH and KH required are very different and not compatible on paper. Does anyone have the tetras mixed with the other fish listed in a tank together?

2. How do we raise the KH and lower the PH at the same time (or vise versa)?

3. For schooling fish, what is the minimum amount of fish to have in a school? (We want happy fish.)

I really appreciate your advice and look forward to discussions with all of you. Thanks for being part of and maintaining a forum like this.

I am brand new to fish tanks but have become interested in them due a family member needing the "calming effects" of the tank sound and visual. We have a 60 gallon fresh water tank that has been running for one week now. We do not have any fish as of yet as we have read many different forums on how to get a tank started. Basically this tank will be a community tank and we are really researching every detail.

We care very much about the well being of the fish we will get. So I have some questions: