Hello :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jenj2m

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone, my name is Jennifer and I live in Northern California. This is my first time having an aquarium and I’m in the process of cycling a 10g tank for a betta. The betta was my little sisters and was kept in one of those plastic tanks that are commonly used for baby turtles. I felt bad for the little guy so I asked her if I could have him and took him home with me. I’m hoping to give him a proper set up and looking forward for him to gain his color and his fins get better. The tank has been setup with the filter and heater running for about a week now. I used QuickStart and stress coat in the water. I barely got my hands on the api master test kit and but am unsure of what to do now that I have the results. If someone could help me I would appreciate it. I’ve (hopefully) attached a picture of the test results :) :thanks:688C32FB-C7AD-4B38-B6B3-01A9D767687F.jpg

Its unclear if you are cycling the tank with the betta in the tank or doing a fishless cycle before putting him in.

Fishless cycle

I still have him in the the small tank and have been doing a water change every 2 days. When my little sister had him they wouldn’t change the water for weeks, poor guy. I saved some of that water and when I startled cycling the tank I added a bit of the dirty water. I assumed this would be like adding the fish fish food. I’ve been reading about the cycle, but I guess what my question is, should I do a water change Or just continue to let the tank do it’s thing. Thank you for replying

If you arent happy with the conditions your betta is in, it might be best to do 100% water change in the new tank and do a fish in cycle with the betta in its new home. How big a tank is he in at the moment?