Hello! :D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Matt_7689

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone!
I am fairly new to owning an aquarium. I started out with a small 2 gallon tank with two fancy guppies. I acquired this when my family friend decided that she did not want to have them anymore. They were in fairly poor condition and were okay for a few months. One of them died today which I am a tad bit sad about. :nono:
I recently got a ten gallon aquarium and had two fancy guppies, two tetras, and a third fish that I am unsure of. One of the tetras and one of the guppies died from the new filter and were sucked onto the intake tube. :banghead:
I found out about this site from searching what to do about fish getting stuck and decided that I should join so that I could become more informed about the hobbie and maybe enjoy it a little more. I'm looking forward to being on this site and maintaining a happy aquarium with happy fish! :fish2::fish1:
:thanks:

Welcome to AA but the fish didn't die from the intake..a healthy fish wouldn't have that issue.do you own a test kit to check ammonia nitrIte nitrate and PH..also tetras are a schooling fish so they are best kept in a school of atleast 5

Welcome to AA but the fish didn't die from the intake..a healthy fish wouldn't have that issue.do you own a test kit to check ammonia nitrIte nitrate and PH..also tetras are a schooling fish so they are best kept in a school of atleast 5

Sadly I do not own a test kit, I do need one though. I learned that it was most likely because I did not cycle the tank.... OOPS! :ermm: I only had two tetras because of the size of the previous "tank". I do plan on getting more in a month. (Ahem, after it cycle's.)

Well first you'll need to go out and get one then more then likely daily wc til your tanks parameters level out