Hello Everybody, I have a question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SmilingSword

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everybody,

Wall of text about me and fish keeping throughout my life.
Question right at the end, if you don't feel like reading.

my name is Jacques, I'm a 3D artist working as a graphic designer, trying to learn programing, but real life sucks.

So lets talk about fish.
I have had many tanks throughout my life, silly little guppy tanks when I was a kid, semi aquatic tanks for my red eared sliders when I was a teenager, and at one point i even got to work a aquatics pet shop for a year " oh the horror stories I could tell you about fish suppliers" Working at the shop gave me pretty decent discount so I took full advantage and started a tropical predator tank, which turned into a brackish predator tank and a weird little marine tank, that turned into a show goldfish tank, with marine lighting :cool:
shiny goldfish is shiny.

But then I when away to study and my dad gave away all of my aquarium equipment, tanks, gravel, pumps, heaters everything.

So I haven't had a tank in about 5 years now and it's way overdue that I start one up.

Idea for my new tank it's going to be 1.6m long by 65cm high, by 45 cm deep. Using 12mm glass, definitely using cross angle support, still considering weir angle panels in the back corners for extra support. "don't know, they might be to ugly"
Tank is not going to be filled to the brim, so we are looking at a total volume being roughly 400l, that's 106 US gallons.
Actually it's going to be a lot less once I've added all the rocks, mopani wood and plants.