Hello everyone, this is Sage!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sage

Aquarium Advice Newbie
tl;dr: I was led astray by chain pet store employees and am trying to redo my tank, and wondering how to go about sterilizing my stuff to ensure a fresh and clean restart.

Hello! I am new to fish-keeping and aquariums and have had, shall we say "interesting" experiences with it so far. I have joined these forums in hopes of receiving useful (not like the crud the dude at the LFS told me) advice and help.

My backstory as it relates to aquariums / fish-keeping. I was brand new to the hobby and wanted to get started, so I did what I thought was the right thing; I went to the local chain pet store and asked the people in the fish section for advice. I took their advice as law (they must be professionals, right?) and began to set up my tank. Let's just say things went horribly wrong.

I bought a basic starter kit (on their advice, of course) that came with a 20 gal tank, a filter, heater, and hood with LED lights. They advised me that I should set up the tank and let it run 24 hours before adding fish. I asked about live plants and they said that I could add them to the tank immediately; they took me over to a tank with plants and I randomly chose interesting looking ones.

When I got home, I started to set up my tank; again following their "guidelines." I rinsed all the gravel / decorations I purchased, as well as all the equipment. I put in the gravel, added the heater to the side, set up the filter and added the plants / decorations. Then I added the water and the dechlorinator that came with the tank kit. I let this run for 24 hours, then went back to the store and bought some fish.