Hello from MamaSueD

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MamaSueD

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, and thank you for accepting me to this group and forum. I am new to the fish keeping world with only experience with a goldfish my mother kept alive for me as a child. However, I have inherited an 33 gallon tank, I think that is the size, with fish included about 3 months ago. We were doing fine until a few weeks ago when the tank had to be temporarily moved in front of the door and the added sunshine started a green algae growing in the tank. The tank when I inherited it was pretty plain. There was a center strip of driftwood and live Wyndelov Java Fern growing from it going from one end of the tank to the other. The fish that I inherited are an angelfish and a bala shark, both of which are at least 8 years old, a bottom feeder plecostomus which is slightly younger, a siamese algae eater age unknown, about 8 zebra danios, and some small ramshorn snails. The bala shark is approx 6 inches long, the angelfish is about 4-5 inches, the plecos is about 6-8 inches and the SAE is about 3 inches. Now, from what I have read both the bala and the angelfish should have companions and a bigger tank. I have removed about half of the java fern just because it was such a dull tank and it had overtaken so much we really couldn't even see the fish we had in the tank. In the ferns place I have added a couple of decorative ornaments that allow the SAE to hide within them but adds some bright color and a couple of silk plants all of which allows us to enjoy the fish more. Also, the filter that was given to us was disgustingly filthy and quit working a few weeks ago. I also feel it was too small of a filter so I replaced it with a Marineland C-220. My concerns however, are that the tank is still too small for the fish that are in it. I would love to add some new fi