Hello from St Marie Mt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MommaJade

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've kept fish on and off for almost 30 years now. However this is my first time having cichlids. I currently have two aquariums.

I have 4 angel fish (they're black and silver) in a 55 gallon aquarium. These were given to me by someone who was getting out of breeding them. From what I can tell I have 2 males and 2 females. They've laid eggs three times when they were in their previous aquarium (a 29 gallon) but they always ate the eggs. No big deal really as I'm honestly not interested in breeding them.

In addition to the angel fish there are 4 fish that are native to this area. They mostly hide, and leave the angel fish alone entirely. They stay in the bottom in a hollow tree stump thing. The angel fish ignore them as well.

In the 29 gallon I now have a female white lab. All I know is that she's a little over a year old, or rather the previous owner had her from the initial purchase (a year ago in March) when she was small until I took her, which was just a week ago. I'm certain she's female as we witnessed her laying eggs just a couple days ago.

Her previous tank was a messy, algae filled 55 gallon. She had no tank mates. As far a so know she'd never laid eggs until I got her.

I feel comfortable with maintenance and such. What I don't know is:

1. Should the white lab cichlid have a tank mate? I've taken video of her and then played it back and she seems very interested. She has also shown interest in her own reflection. I've read mixed opinions about if I should have another in the 29 gallon tank.

2. Any suggestions for adding interest and color to the angel fish tank?

I live a minimum of 3 hours from any pet store and realistically it is about a 5 hour drive to a store that I'd want to buy fish from. I'd be ordering online.