Hello! New to the fun world of aquarium keeping!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JerseyGirl1385

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello everyone! My name is Randi.

I am new to the aquarium world. I currently have a 39g tank with 2 Black Moors ( Sammy and Paco), 2 small comets and a snail.
Just tested my water yesterday and everything is perfect except my ammonia is slightly high.

Any advice would be appreciated on how to keep ammonia level down. Just did 50% water change Tuesday night and got a new filter. Removed 75 percent of my substrate ( planning on going bare bottom?? Any advice on that).

And as of this morning, tank is still slightly cloudy, but not nearly as bad as it was on Tuesday. I can actually see through the tank if I stand on one side.

Thanks!!!

Welcome to the family!! I your tank cycled? When you bought the new filter did you seed it with your old media from the other filter? 2 goldfish with other fish sounds like a heavy bio load. What are your water changes like?

You may need to up the water changes to 50% weekly. You need to get your ammonia down. What's your feeding schedule like? A cycled tank shouldn't have ammonia IMO.

You be going through a mini cycle since you changed out filters. The cloudiness could be a bacteria bloom also.

Hope this helps! I'm no expert though.

And again welcome!! Glad your here!!

image-4247850341.jpg