Hello! Newbie looking for advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fredje

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I'm completely new to fish tanks! Started off my new hobby with buying a 50l (13g) tank, after doing some reading put down 2 layers of gravel (bottom one with plant substrate) and stocked it with plants and a decoration. The tank has a heater (back left behind plant) and an internal filter (back right).

While I'm waiting for the tank to stabilise, I thought it would be good to get some ideas on fish combos.

I like the thought of a 'center piece' fish (e.g. honey/dwarf gourami or other) in combination with a school (neons? rasboras? platies? pygmy coradoras? danios? ...) and possible a few shrimp.

What would you recommend?

Thanks!

Attachments

• 2nk1i4z.jpg
    2nk1i4z.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 89
Hi fishyperson3010. I think so (?), what I meant by waiting for the tank to stabilise is that I'm doing a fishless cycle. I filled the tank with 50/50 rain/tap water and after putting in the plants I added water conditioner. In a week or so I'll measure the water for the first time.

Fredje said:
Hi fishyperson3010. I think so (?), what I meant by waiting for the tank to stabilise is that I'm doing a fishless cycle. I filled the tank with 50/50 rain/tap water and after putting in the plants I added water conditioner. In a week or so I'll measure the water for the first time.

Don't forget an ammonia source to get it going. The link above might help. Good luck

Thanks for your fast response! I did not add ammonia -- thanks for the link, I will read it on this rainy day.

I have test strips with pH, kH, gH, NO3 and NO2 levels on each strip.

Fredje said:
Thanks for your fast response! I did not add ammonia -- thanks for the link, I will read it on this rainy day.

I have test strips with pH, kH, gH, NO3 and NO2 levels on each strip.