Hey all! Total newbie to the hobby & need some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XboxBetta

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
New interest has brought me here into a new circle of people; hello!
Please bear with me as I have a few questions.. Any and all advice much appreciated!

So here's the deal.

I bought a small 2 gallon self-sustaining aquarium for my gf. I used reverse osmosis water & upon startup tested balanced ph, 0 chlorine & 0 hardness.

Now the system is supposed to be self-sustaining - filter, pump, fish creates waste that feeds basil growing on top of the tank - in turn filtering the water even further, once it's grown.

So I got 1 betta fish, a mystery snail I think? A couple artificial ornaments & a moss ball. (Pics for ref.)

I let system run with water & decor for 2 days before I added life. I was impatient & couldn't wait for basil to grow.

1 week in & Gleek the betta eats regularly & seems generally happy. Sir snail really doesn't do much. I've only seen him change locations one time. Isolated & pit him on top of an algae thin - he was very active. Put him back in tank & remained active rest of the day. But that was it. His foot hangs out & he responds to touch but never really moves.
Legolas collectible toy came in a sealed package. Rinsed him & the tank & all the decor for that matter with the R/O water. Aqua siliconed the toy to a tank-safe rock & put him in.
Also added 3-4 drops of beneficial bacteria with water top off. -took a week for me to realize that R/O is super clean & some beneficial bacteria would, well.. be beneficial.

TLDR; So now, currently 2 weeks in - betta still happy. Snail still not active. Basil has sprouted. & I noticed the water to be slightly cloudy.. Which I know indicates a water change is necessary, right?