Hey everyone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alex93

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey everyone I'm new to owning aquatic fish and have no idea what am going lol I though it just be the same as owning goldfish but with warm water lol I found out the hard way that you can't put certain fish together ( r.i.p guppys :( ) so can people please let me no some of the basics that I need to no what things I need to have in my tank and what fish to add to my tank so far I have one tank with two Bolivian rams two guppys and a few mollies and a small tank with just a betta fish in :)

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Okay do just been going frew some message and read some thing about letting the tank cycle and nitro and things, what does all this mean? I set my tank up and got my fish the next day.... That was about 3weeks ago and there all alive ( part from my free guppys my betta got before I found out they can't go tougher ) they all look healthy and the water looks fine :/ are my fishes gunna be ok ?

You should be okay. Rite now the chemicals may be unbalanced (most likley) as things cycle.

Last april I got exited and listened to the petco people without researching... Bought a new aquarium, and after the "sure start" bottle I added my fish after 24 hours... Nothing died in my tank, but later I learned of the stresses I put the fish through until it all worked out. And as of rite now those fish are VERY happy, alive and well fed... So I hope yours have just as much luck as mine did :)

Things you'll want are a good filter, (I replaced the cheap tetra one that came with mine with a Marineland penguin 100 with a biowheel, biiig difference). A quality heater that wont let tank temps flex too much, and a healthy light source if you plan to have live plants.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Aquarium Advice mobile app