Hi :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ashleigh

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone. I have a 90g tank that I'm restarting. I bought my 90g in 1998 and had it running for 8 years. One evening there was a short of some sort (we think the tank heater) and everything fried. I was devastated but happy we were home and the house didn't go down too!

I'll be honest...I had a bad start up because I had a LFS that when I look back, really wanted to sell livestock and products without thinking of consequences and I was a complete novice. To start..instead of doing a "real" cycle I was sold some enyme something to get a quick cycle. I couldn't stay out of the store and a week later the owner of the LFS said to pick out fish. Oh...and I did. I went home with a tassel file, 2 yellow head jawfish, a flame angel, engineer goby, a maroon clown, a yellow spotted box fish, and a long horn cow fish! I know...I know...now. I acclimated them and put them in the tank. I was a fanatic...I watched them for hours on end...tested every day. I honestly do not know how I kept them alive. Two weeks later I went back to the store and ....hold on it gets worse...she sold me a bicolor angel, lemonpeel angel, AND a mandarin goby and a piece of LR. (I had no LR and she had convinced me to buy cc for my substrate) The mandarin didn't live for long. Things went well for a few months. Loved my tank. But I was concerned because I could never seem to hold my levels and I always seemed to have ammonia and nitrates. One by one my fish died. I was upset and was told to keep adding LR. It was always a struggle to maintain that tank even though I did weekly water changes and tested often. This went on for years. It seemed to stabilize the last 3 years but I wouldn't say it was perfect. I had bought a skimmer and a uv light. Changed some things...started removing the blue bio bal