Hi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Whitetigergirl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I'm somewhat new to this. I have always had goldfish which are completely different from tropicals. I have a 50 gallon tank that I would like to build up with some pretty colorful fish and maybe some coral it is a tall tank with not terribly much horizontal swim space. I am looking for some advice as to the type of fish I should get, I also don't have a ton of time to dedicate to maintenance so I'm hoping for something fairly easy to start with. I saw some albino paradise fish that were cute... Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Hi welcome to the forum! I'm assuming this will be a fw tank and as such no coral can go in it unfortunately. I'm more a saltwater guy but there are lots of fw folks who I'm sure will see this post in no time :). Good luck :)

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Good for you not stocking fish and asking questions first! XD

Hmm... Cherry barbs are nice fish. Assuming you want to keep it simple and low maintenance you will also want to keep the stocking rather low along with a small clean-up crew.

so for a 50...

12 Cherry Barbs (3 m : 9 f or 2 m : 10 f)
3 Platies (1 m : 2 f or 3 m or 3 f)
15 Amano Shrimp
5 Nerite Snails

So this is how I would stock it

Also, you change about 7.5 gallons of water (10 to be safe. :) ).

Don't forget to gravel vacuum and cycle! Also introduce the fish slowly. Platies first, then in a week 4 cherry barbs, then in another week 4 more cherry barbs, then in another week 4 more cherry barbs, then the amano shrimps and nerites the next week. :)

Use StressZyme when you are introducing them and StressCoat as well.