Hi All Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chrispower1980

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I joined this site as I am a complete novice to keeping fish, however my 7 year old daughter wants to keep fish but wasn't content with a goldfish in a bowl, she wanted tropical fish and in particular neon tetras. So anyway I guess this will mean i need to get myself up to speed of all requirements as i will play a big par tin the up keep. I suppose it will be good daddy daughter bonding time :ermm:.

I have just purchased an Aquael Classic 60 Aquarium starter kit and would love for those with experience on how to cycle the tank. From what i have read so far I cannot add the tetras straight away, would it be better to introduce a hardier species for this process? If so what kind of fish will work in a community with a school of neon tetras? For tank size was thinking 8 neon tetras and 2 other fish (not sure what is compatible)

As i said i am a complete novice and all advice welcome as i don't want to do it half arsed and for the fish to suffer.

Hopefully speak to some of you later

Thanks

Chris

Ok so welcome to the forum, so as I understand it is 15 gallons or so if I were u to keep down waste in the tank I would do 5-6 neon tetras and a snail on the bottom to help with left over food which can cause high nitrates.

As for cycling a tank I would suggest to do a fishless cycle but u still Ned a source of ammonia so I would buy a cycle starter from a fish store leave it sitting till u
Your test kit reads 0 ammonia, 0 nitrates, less than 20 nitrates, and u want ph to be from 6.5 to 7.8.

Good luck!!!

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Your test kit reads 0 ammonia, 0 nitrates, less than 20 nitrates, and u want ph to be from 6.5 to 7.8.