Hi from Scotland

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CoralBon

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello :)

I am a sculptor and graphic designer originally from Portugal.

I have just bought a fish tank (Fluval Edge 23 litres / 6 US gallons) for my three-year old daughter, who is very excited about the prospect of having fish (tiny!) and/or snails and shrimp in her aquarium.

I am absolutely new to fish tanks, so I thought it would be great to be able to ask for advice from experienced and kind people as those in these forum.

I am very excited at embarking in this project and also very much looking forward to hear from you!

I am writing this as my hello post and am not sure I can ask a question. I will ask just in case...

I am preparing my tank (Fluval Edge 23 litres / 6 US gallons) for a tropical environment where to keep, hopefully, endlers (or size-equivalent), ruby shrimps and perhaps tiny snails. I have already prepared the tank with the bacteria. My problem is the temperature.

We live in a traditional Edinburgh apartment with the also traditional drafty windows which means our living room, where the tank is, gets quite cold at times -- 12C / 53.6 F in the mornings (and occasionally during the day) in the evenings getting to 21C / 69.8 F.

I am using the 25 W heater that comes with the fluval tank and the heater is not coping well:
1- The temp will not, at any point, rise above 19 C (60.8 F)
2 - the temp oscillates between 16 C (60.8 F) and 19 C (66.2 F)during the day.

So, could I ask, what heater would you advise, please?
1- It would need to be fully submersible (in this tank the water touches the upper, horizontal, glass)
2- would need to be able to maintain a *constant temp* of at least 26 C (78.8 F)