Hi! I'm a newbie to AA and fishkeeping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ma2oo

Aquarium Advice Activist
My name is Matthew. I had a small betta in a five gallon as a kid, but nothing else other than that. So....I am very unexperienced and want to learn more on how to make my tank perfect. I currently have a ten gallon tank with an aquaclear 20 filter, eheim jager 50 watt heater, whisper 10 air pump, and 15 watt ultra sun bulb in an aqueon deluxe hood. My substrate is black tahitian moon sand. The current fish I have are 10 penguin tetras, 2 sterbai corydoras, and 2 albino corydoras. Also, I have several live plants which seem to have a thin brown coating of slime. My decorations are a piece of driftwood and tiny mountain thing.

Does anybody know if my tank is okay for an otocinclus? Also, should I upgrade my filtration system, because my nitrates are like 80ppm and I do water changes every week.

Does anybody know if my tank is okay for an otocinclus? Also, should I upgrade my filtration system, because my nitrates are like 80ppm and I do water changes every week.

I would upgrade the tank, it's way over stocked for a 10g. I wouldn't add anything else. ALsoI welcome to AA. Your equipment an such are in the right order, but never do more then 5 tetras in a 10g

First thing you need to know: rule of thumb is 1 gallon per inch of fish. Sounds like you might have too many fish already.

Welcome!

Like the PP said, you are wayy too overstocked. You should think about upgrading to at least a 20 with your current stock before adding anything new.
Even with having double filtration you're still going to have to do massive weekly water changes to keep nitrates under control unless you upgrade or cut the stock to at least 1/2.