Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-10-2020, 05:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

High ammonia levels no nitrite

Hi all. Im setting up an old 30 gallon tank. Currentlly letting it cycle. Im still relatively new to this but i do know the basics. But its been about 3 weeks now and my api liquid kit is showing crazy amonia spike. Like im talking 8ppm maybe higher. Last week the water was super cloudy which i assume was just new tank syndrome. I've not put a single thing in it besides gravel which i washed off. But i figured with such high results i should be seeing nitrites but nothing so far. Im trying to be patient but it s rather frustrating. I have a gravel filter. Im probably just being impatient but want to make sure my tank is atleast trying to cylce. I hear it can take about 6 to 7 weeks to get a tank to cycle.

Old 09-10-2020, 05:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

4 to 6 weeks for a fishless cycle is typical. Can take longer though, every cycle us different.

A few questions and a few points to raise.

- How have you got your ammonia upto 8ppm? Dosing ammonia? Fish food?

- Have you done anything to seed the filter? Best method is introducing some filter media from an established filter (perhaps you have a friend that keeps fish). Next best option would be a biological booster like Dr Tims One + only or seachem stability. If you dont do anything to seed the filter your 4 to 6 weeks will be more like 3 months.

- 8ppm of ammonia is way too high. Concentrations above 6ppm is generally accepted will kill off any beneficial bacteria. 4ppm is a more normal concentration to start off a fishless cycle. 50% water change is needed to bring that level down.

This is the guide to fishless cycle that people are normally pointed to.