I’m new

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jwalk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,
Not sure where to post questions. I don’t want to post in the wrong section. Just looking for advice in setting up a 75 gallon tank. Haven’t had a tank before. I’m a complete newbie to this. Lol

This is fine, or you can make a new thread under the freshwater general forum.

Anyway, have you got the tank already? 75 gallons is a perfect starting tank.

What are your goals with the tank? Planted? Cichlids? other??

Yes I do have the tank, I had a custom built bar for it to go into. Haven’t even filled it with water yet. Still need to pick up all the supplies I’ll need. Heater etc.. I figured go with a big tank in case I mess things up! At this point I don’t have a real plan yet. Not sure what fish go with what. I want to stay away from live plants and just use decorations to start.

If it helps there are a ton of beginner plants that are really hard to kill. I personally recommend anubias. I have one that's been growing for about 5 years. It grows slowly and can be attached to rocks/driftwood.

Hmmm I guess I can give it a try. Like I said I’m open to anything at this point! Now to figure out what fish work well with others. And how many!

If you are going the no plant route, look into driftwood pieces and larger rock. And if you like that look it's worth googling African Cichlids. They require that type of set up.

Really, you should pick some fish you like, see if they're compatible, then plan your tank set up around them. That will keep you from the headache of changing your tank around later when you decide you didn't like the set up you jumped into at first.