I'm new.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BrittME

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone.

I'm not really sure what to say. I'm new to fish-keeping. But it's something I've always loved and wanted to do. I currently just have a 15 gallon tall tank with 1 Platy, 1 Otocinclus, a mystery snail and a zebra snail. I've only had it for about a month but they seem to be doing well.

Originally I had 2 Platy's and 2 Lemon tetras but they died within the first week.

I have lots of questions and I'm open to suggestions as well.

Thank you!

I actually have a dilemma. I'm really not sure what to do.

I have been wanting to get a few more fish for my tank. Mostly for my platy so it's not alone. I went 4 days ago, so Friday and bought 1 platy, 1 longfin black skirt tetra and a longfin white skirt tetra. I noticed last night that the white skirt tetra had damage to it's fins and it was not swimming or trying to eat and this morning it was dead. The black tetra also has damage but not as much. Both the remaining tetra and the platy are very dull in colors right now and I'm worried that there may be a disease. This is a 10 gallon quarantine tank.

Also... I don't see any damage to the platy and other than the dullness it seems fine. The black skirt tetra is swimming and eating.

I'd appreciate any and all advice.

Last edited:
Tetras are social fish. They do better when kept in groups of their own kind. When not kept in sufficiently sized groups they feel stress. Stress can manifest in a variety of ways. They are more likely to be agressive towards each other, they are more likely to hide away because they dont feel safe, they are more likely to get sick and less likely to recover. 6 tetras are often thought to be the minimum number of fish for them to be comfortable, but really 10 would be better.