Intro

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Garjam

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all My name is Gary and I'm a newbie just bought my first fish tank two days ago (fluval chi) I'm 28 and from south Wales uk

I haven't put any fish or heater in at the morment come to think of it the only thing I've put in is water .
so any ideas or help for the next step would be be great

Many thanks

Thanks nice to know someone local on here and in the furture you could recommend some fish shops to me haha
Where you from in Wales I'm in the south (Neath)

Could someone tell me the pros and cons of the different types of fish groups salt or topical please

I'm a gogg mate north Wales, Mold Wrexham way been plodding away at the tank for a few years now started off without a clue made every mistake going trust me!!!

Tropicals a lot cheaper and not speaking from experience but from what I've read and heard a saltwater tank and it's care is a lot more challenging than tropicals

Thanks you've made my mind up haha next thing now what type of heater do I need and is there anything else I must get before I start getting fish in there

Heater- depends on size of tank to be fair

Read up on cycling abs the nitrogen cycle for aquariums it will save you a hell of a lot of money and stress....I lost all of my fish because I didn't read up about fish keeping before chucking fish in a tank and let's just say I wish I had!!!!!

Oh thanks, the tank I got is only 10" by 10" and 16" high more of a water feature with the fountain on top (25litres) fluval chi I haven't even put stones in the bottom yet. I don't know where to start haha.
The shop I bought it from said add water and bring a sample back in a week. So I was waiting till that was ready before looking any further in to it