Just Registered

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kevbrew

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all my name is Kev i am 29 years old and live in louth, lincolnshire. I work as a head chef at a golf club. I am looking to start an aquarium, but am undecided wether to fet fw or sw. As my son and i really want a sw as he wants nemo and i wnt corals. But frm what ive seen fw is cheaper but surely fw uses electricity for the heater etc. Please cud anyone giv sum advice? Thanx in advance.

Hi all my name is Kev i am 29 years old and live in louth, lincolnshire. I work as a head chef at a golf club. I am looking to start an aquarium, but am undecided wether to fet fw or sw. As my son and i really want a sw as he wants nemo and i wnt corals. But frm what ive seen fw is cheaper but surely fw uses electricity for the heater etc. Please cud anyone giv sum advice? Thanx in advance.

Clownfish are great! My honest suggestion, however, would be to go with freshwater, at least to start. Saltwater is generally for very experienced aquarists, as it tends to be more expensive, has strict ph, salt, ammonia, nitrate, etc. requirements. Both FW and SW would require a heater, great filtration, cycling, and other things. Once you feel comfortable with avoiding new tank syndrome, regular water changes, managing the nitrogen cycle in your FW tank, are familiar with diseases, acclimating fish, etc., then you could try a smaller saltwater tank. Not to say you couldn't handle it, but there really is a lot that I wish I had known as I started out into aquariums. Let me know if this helps at all or if you have other questions.