Me, who I am, Yeah!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StartledMoose

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
An aquarium newbie but not an idiot. Got meself a lowly 35l tank. Trying to set up a sustaining ecosystem. Hello all.

cheers!

I'm very new to the world of aquariums. I'm a week and a half into a brand new 35litre tank (7.8gall-ish). Room temperature tank. One very small fantail goldfish and seven minnows introduced two days ago. I'm using a supposed bacterial cullture starter but I'm not convinced by it. I'll stick to 10% water changes daily until my filter is content.
Anyone done similar in terms of a fantail and minnow?

Hate to be the bearer of bad news but those fish are going to end up needing larger tanks. However there are lots of cool fish that would work and the members on this forum are always willing to help. Feel free to ask any questions you may have. :)

Yes the gold fish alone is too much for that tank. The minnows I believe won't work either. I can't think off the top of my head and cold water fish for this sized tank. Of you had a heater it would open it up to a betta, 6 galaxy rasboras, or 6 ember tetras

Or a shrimp colony. There's lots of inverts that easily fit in a tank this size AND would be compatible with the fish charlie listed.

Surely my seven white cloud minnows will be quite content in a 35l? I'm aware in a couple of years my fantail will need a significant upgrade (depending on how active he is (stunting woule be bad!))

Anyone got any advice on when I could put amano shrimp in?
Do I need a bigger tank for my minnows?

P.S. I'm keeping a very close eye on ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.

If you want to stick with cooler water fish, perhaps White Cloud Mountain Minnows. Not sure how many are appropriate for the tank though. But they are small, attractive and hopefully have a low bioload.

Sit rep

3 weeks in.