Morning All....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jnrsmum

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am Kate ...

I have read a couple of threads on this forum and decided to join as it appears that people on here are very friendly and non critical of others misunderstanding when it comes to housing and set ups but instead it seems that you all seem to want to help ;)

I am fairly new to fish keeping (except for a goldfish I won at a fair which lived 17 years after my brother telling me it wouldn't survive the night so don't get too attached :brows: ) ..... I have been in the game 4 months ...... I still have loads to learn and I certainly am learning something new every day.

It started this time around with me thinking I would buy a fish for my son, was talked into tropical so I bought a starter 30 litre tank and was sold (by the same retailers) 1 pleco, 1 red tail and 5 neon 2 days later to put in it .... needless to say the poor neon died.................... I will admit I take part responsibility for there death and feel awful BUT the retailer really should have been more open with information.... anyway I have now found another reputable retailer :D

So having killed these poor neon I started reading, learning and understanding a little more about the science of it all. I now have also a 30 gallon tank that I picked up second-hand, it has been running for approx 8 weeks, it is planted and having run it as fish-less for the first 5 weeks I then moved my pleco over to finish the cycle.

In the meantime I got a huge snail infestation in my 30 litre tank and was advised that it would be ok to purchased 2 clown loach on the understanding that once the bigger tank was ready they would be moved into that.

So big tank cycled and ready I moved in the 2 Clown Loach and the red tail and all seems to be ok (ish)