My fish story

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shinygrape

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a movie producer and festival director, so I only know people and talk to people about movies, festivals, actors, and the like. I love it, but I have very few freshwater fish friends, and the guys at the pet store don't know what they're talking about. One of my friends just got a job at the Camden ("Adventure") Aquarium, which is exciting, so she's getting crash course in fish!

I got into freshwater fish when I was a kid - I was begging my mom for a sheep (no kidding. I saw one at the 4-H fair and I wanted one). My mom compromised and bought me 10 feeder fish for $1, which she placed into one of those giant 1 gallon glass pickle jars. Needless to say, they died in a week. Sure, I cried like [moderator edit]wento the book mobile and checked out every fish book they had so I could figure out what was wrong.

My family was poor growing up, so my mom couldn't buy me a "proper" fishtank. I decided to save up nickles and dimes on the street so I could afford one someday, and in the meantime, I drew fish and took out more and more fish books from the library. Eventually, I was able to buy a 1 gallon tank with a "bubbler" and a betta (named Wanda. Of course). I had that thing until it died of old age in college.

I ended up studying marine biology, but had a complete panic attack while trying to tread water in the pool. My mom brought me up to be afraid of a LOT of stuff - water, dogs, people, etc. Took YEARS to get over the social anxiety and dogs, but the water still stands.