new and confused!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dbaeunn

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi. I am a down right noob (no denying it).. I had fish as a kid (while my mom took care of them), I also had a Cichlid in highschool/college years that ended up being a carny fish a friend gave to me. I took a few years off from having fish.
NOW-- I have 2 kids, who absolutely LLLOVE fish! We came home with a few goldfish from the ping pong "carnie stand" at your local county fair. I thought it would be a good time to start up again. I had to so many I gave some of them away..
Long story short, the ones I kept died. I buy a new fish and it dies after the 2wk mark with no signs of illness. I've gone through Black molly, silver molly, dalmation molly, and fruit (painted) tetra..

The only thing that has survived from the beginning is my Pleco, Blue Mystery Snail, and 2 ADF's. The ADF's were added to the tank after the first set of fish died off.

I hope to learn LOTS and figure out what Im doing wrong (if I am doing anything wrong):confused:

First off, welcome to the forum !!

Now a couple things to help along. With the tank you have set up, how did you come about it ? What size, are you aware of cycling in a tank ? How long has the tank been running ? This will help a little bit to get familiar. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/tips-and-tricks-for-your-fastest-fishless-cycle/
Here is another on fish-in cycling. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/fish-in-cycling-step-over-into-the-dark-side-176446.html

Do you have any testing kits to test the water ? In the above two articles, you will find why these are very important to your fish. (And your sanity, lol). What kind of filter/media do you have ? Did you treat your tap water with conditioner ?