New Betta Owner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chelsi.reber

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone,

My name is Chelsi & I'm the proud new owner of a beautiful male half moon dumbo Betta. His name is Falcor. The pet store said he was a baby. He lives in a 5 gallon palace just for him.

I use to have a 15 gallon wide tank years ago, but never had a Betta. So I am new to Betta's, but not new to tanks. However, it has been so long now that I feel like I know nothing about it now. I have to admit that I am having some trouble getting going on this tank. I am starting to feel like the more research I do, the more I realize that the pet store probably didn't give me the best information as a beginner.

Any advice for beginners is welcome. Thanks and have a beautiful day!:fish2:

Congrats! I hope your tank is cycled to keep you new baby safe.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Welcome!

Yay you for getting a 5 gallon tank for a betta, that's a perfect size! Have you done a fishless cycle on the 5 gallon tank because that really helps keep the ammonia, nitrates and nitrites levels low? I would also suggest some low light plants like java fern or Moss balls. Bettas love a natural environment.
I'll be glade to help if you have questions, I'm a beginner too but I could share research I've done and the success I've had with my betta and planted 5 gallon tank. :D

Congrats! I hope your tank is cycled to keep you new baby safe.