New Member and New to Aquariums from GA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ericallenboyd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I hope everyone is having a good day. I have never had a tank before and looking to do a freshwater tank. I am a researcher and have learned a lot in the last week since I started looking at it.

From what I have read bigger is better for a newbie but don't think that I will get anything over 50g because my wife does not want anything bigger than that in our place or even if i can get that big of one.

Here is a list of supplies that i have so far and let me know if i missed anything or need to get something different as i would rather buy nice stuff the first time:

either a 29g nano tank or 50g long
aquaclear filter, either the 50 or 70
timer for filter
heater
either crush coral or sand for substrate
water conditioner
ammonia for fishless cycling
temperature strips that i can stick to the side
api master test kit
python siphon kit for water changes possibly
plants (java moss, or java fern or both)

I would like to do a community tank but dont think the 29g nano will work for this based on my reading.

At the end of the day I don't want to buy a small tank (10g) and then upgrade later. Plus I dont think that I can put much in a 10g.

Welcome to AA. I agree with going bigger I did start out with a 20 and now have a 75. I'm under the impression that you have read about cycling your tank this would be your first step. To help you decide better look up some fish just to get an idea of what you would like. Also it will help to ask questions about them.