New Member, New Tank, and needing advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stargaze

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey there. I'm a newbie, not only to the forums, but to fish and aquarium care in general. I love animals, and have always loved watching documentaries on national geographic, animal planet, ect.

Do to some recent changes in my life (mainly work!) I've gotten a huge interest in aquatic life.
It all started with a little Betta fish who stole my heart, and within a few weeks I've gotten myself wound up into having a big fish tank that I've lept into without fully educating myself on it. (Which I'm now Kicking myself for.)

Lets start with my tanks:

My little Betta fish is named Kryoh. He is a gorgeous halfmoon betta who has a black head, and the rest of his body basically has peacock colors. Blue, Green, Turquoise, and occasionally a brilliant brownish gold to his tail. He also has a line of white coloration to the bottom of his ventral fin. I adore this fish :3 And it is so much fun watching him swim around in his big tank. (Well, big compared to the little cups they live in, or the 1 gallon bowls often suggested for them.)

His tank is the Aquafin 180 degree view 3.5 gallon tank, with about two and a half inches of a soft gravel on the bottom. He has a beautiful Asian setup (An Asian garden ornament, and bamboo ornament) and some little fake plastic plants and is often swimming about in the middle happily. The tank DID come with a filter. But the current of the filter is too strong for him. So it is currently unplugged, while I figure out if I can put a heater in its place instead. I'm very proud of his tank!