New to Aquariums!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CallMeJus

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone. I'm Jus, I'm and active duty US Marine stationed in SoCal. For a long time I've been intrigued about aquariums so I finally purchased one! I got a Fluval Spec V and have decided to do a planted freshwater aquarium since I'm a beginner and got intimidated by all that intails keeping a healthy saltwater tank. I do hope to have a saltwater tank in the future though.

So far I purchased a heater that keeps the tank at 78*F, and added bacteria and conditioner to the water. I also added the rocks, driftwood, Marimo moss ball, and a plant. The water has been cycling for about a week now. Where do I go from here?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    172.3 KB · Views: 65
Welcome to the forum ?

How are you cycling the tank?

You could probably do with a few more plants. Also don't be surprised if they don't flourish in your current set up. Plants need light, carbon and nutrients to grow well and the stronger the light the more of the other two are required. This poses a problem for submerged plants because obtaining enough carbon is a huge challenge underwater. Sometimes people are able to grow plants without adding additional forms of carbon, especially if the light intensity is low but others are not. Bare that in mind for now

Looks like you have some fast growers, hygrophila defformis and hygrophila polysperma? Try allowing good gas exchange by using the filter to disturbed the water surface slightly. This should allow a small but steady supply of carbon in to the water as well as good oxygen levels which are very important for the ecosystem.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice