new to fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Christina717

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello everyone my name is Christina. I live in lebanon PA and love animals. I have 3 hamster a dog,cat, and a bunny. I am however new to having fish!.
I wanted to start small because im still new to the whole fish thing. had fish in the past and after 1week they would die, so after the 3rd one I just stoped because i wasnt ready in my opinion to have one. So after I found this site I was very HAPPY to see a post about Fishless Cycling and after reading it and taking notes I went on a hunt today to find pure ammonia to get it goin. After going to 7different places I happen to find the right stuff at Weis. I shook it and no FOAM! YAY!
I have a 10gallon tank with 3 small fake plastic plants. A aquaclear 20gallon filter, air pump and some polished stone gravel. I only plan to have 1 goldfish in this tank. When I went to petsmart today to buy the stones I saw a telescope goldfish and fell in love so I plan on getting one of those fish they said it can get up to 6inches...so im hoping it will be ok to put in a 10gallon tank.
Let me know what you guys and gals think!

I just started the fishless cycling today and tested it and the ammonia is a around 4 maybe a little higher!
THANKS-CHRISTINA:rolleyes:

THNX. yeah idk much about any type of fish. hopefully people can keep me on the right track to have a healthy tank for my fish. if everyting goes right i might try a 55gallon and get more fish!:rolleyes:

I'm sorry to tell you 10g is not big enough for Goldfish. Rule of stocking Goldfish for long term health is 20g minimum for 1 Goldfish. And you'd need about a 40g filter. They get large and messy.

Beautiful fish, but not good for a 10g

Look at White Cloud Mountain Minnows if you don't want to run a heater. Or a
spectacular Betta if you want a larger fish.