New to Saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MJSerik

Aquarium Advice Freak
Probably should have made an introduction sooner. Anyways, hi! I'm new to saltwater, and am starting out with a Biocube 29. My original plan was a dwarf fuzzy, but when I put my LR in I realized that I was so limited with a lionfish. So I decided to go with a reef tank. I definitely rushed into it, on day two I had a couple clowns, whoops! They're both fine, and I think they're starting to show interest in each other. I bought a zoa frag a couple days later, and it did great. Later on I had a ton of trouble with zoas, right now my LFS is trying to get them healthy again. Anyways, I currently stand at 2 weeks with two Clarkiis, a bullet goby, a lobophyllia, some mushrooms, and two candy canes :) I'd post a picture but my tank is a little messy right now, gonna do a water change later. Anyways, thanks for all the help so far, and I hope I can help later!

Did you cycle the tank at all? Do you have a test kit? I would definitely start testing the water if you do, even if you did cycle it, adding two fish can cause a slight spike in ammonia sometimes even with a cycled tank.

I did cycle with the Turbo Cycle thing, bacteria in a bottle if you will. I have been testing daily, all is going good :)

I did cycle with the Turbo Cycle thing, bacteria in a bottle if you will. I have been testing daily, all is going good :)

What bacteria in a bottle did you use? That stuff doesn't exactly turbo cycle your tank. You should be testing your water daily right now IMO.

just make sure you are testing for ammonia, nitrites AND nitrates. no point in testing for 1 or 2 of them if you aren't looking at all 3. also it can take 14-21 days before you really see any problems arise from ammonia or the likes. just keep your eyes on it_:)