new to the aquarium hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fish85

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone I'm new to this and I seem to be having a fiew problems. But I would be trying ahead of myself there. To start I began my look into aquarium with a betta I went to a pet store bought my self a small plastic aquarium with a filter a lighting Hood Bult in set it up with proper water treatment bubbles and filtration, set up as perimeters on package, the next day went out and bought a betta. Happy to say after 7 months betta is fine and Bio filter was astablished very well. So I decided to set up my old 10 gallon hermit crab tank.I cleaned it out with hot water and wiped it down with a new sponge. It sparkeld :^) went out bought a new aqua clear HOB model filter wit the works Bio filter incerts carbon and sponges. Also bought a heater and rocks for substrate. Again set up as instructions specified. Let tank bubble away for 3 days then bought 4 fish( 2 some sort of larger tetra ,and 2 smaller tetra, and in about a week they all died, I was perplexed. So I went to a local family owned aquarium and asked, WHAT SHOULD I DO????? I tested ammonia and was way over 8.0 ppm OMG, So I did a total water change like they said to, didn't clean rocks they said not to filled it up and let it bubble away for 3 days and tested for ammonia, levels were at 0.25 ppm. So I went back to the local aquarium and told them what my number's were they said that's fine and I bought 2 platys male and female. Now my ammonia levels are going up again I'm doing partial water changes to keep the ammonia levels below 1.0ppm. I don't want my fish to die again. What should I do Any advice would be greatly apreciated.
Thanks I really want this to work

Hi and welcome!