new to the forum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Darkslide

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello all, joining to learn a few things and plan my next tank. I have some experience with bettas when I was younger but been awhile since I last kept any fish. Looking to learn and also plan out my next tank which Im thinking about 20-30 gallons not sure what Im going to get but thinking freshwater but I am open to saltwater as well. I look forward to learning from everyone and getting the most out of the hobby.

Welcome! I'm sure you'll find this forum very helpful, there are many knowledgeable and friendly people who helped me when I first started. :)

Welcome!!!

Consider a 40G breeder tank, lots of swimming room for fish, or for building a little reef tank. Another nice tank is a 36 or 46G Bowfront. Has a nice look to it.

One of the first things to think about will be which type of fish (as well as if SW or FW). Spend a bunch of time looking at different fish at stores, especially independent stores which often carry more of a variety of fish.

Also do you know what your water parameters are out of the tap. pH, KH/GH, often working with the water you have, and then select fish for that kind of water, will be a smart start.

Say if you have very hard water, keeping soft water fish will be more complicated to adjust every water change.

After some looking around on the web I decided to go for freshwater since I'm still fairly new and not looking to spend a ton of money to get started in the hobby at this time. I plan to get my hands on a freshwater master kit next week. I'm going to take your advice and go with a 36 gallon bowfront. Once I get all my water parameters figured I'll make a post here and we'll figure what fish I can choose from.