Newbie from Long Island

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TommyP

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey all, Newbie here:hide:

My names Tom. I'm 25 and live on Long Island. I began getting into fish when watching Tanked on TV. I currently work in telecommunications. My girlfriend won a goldfish at one of those fairs and that's where it all started.

I currently have three tanks set up. The first tank I have is a small 5G with two fan tailed goldfish ( poor fish we originally had died about 2 weeks ago.)

I had a 10G Fresh water tank that i bought shortly after and threw some freshwater fish in there. I have small fish at this point, but they are awesome and very fun to watch. I moved most fish (still alive and well) into a 30G i just bought. Threw a bubbler in there and nice silk plants. I have a Bala shark, Red-tail shark, two rainbow sharks, Green Glo Fish, pinapple swordtail, 2 chinese algae eaters, 2 african frogs, mickey mouse platy, two ( i think 1s preggo) red plattys, 4 black skirt tetras, 2 african ciclids ( 1 blue not sure of the name, and 1 yellow lab i belive its yellow with a black stripe on the top fin).

I emptied and cleaned my third tank, the 10 G which i made salt water. I purchased salt water w. all chemicals balanced from my LFS. I am also using live sand. After letting it run for a couple days and checking all the levels with a test kit I purchased I purchased 15lbs of live rock which also had a feather duster already attached to it. I have 2 small fake plans and 1 medium size green plant to attempt to hide the hose for my bubbler i have as well. I'm planning on getting 2-3 small fish for this nano aquarium. I am planning on getting two clown fish and anenome. any thoughts?