NEWBIE! - Hey Everyone! :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mzbrooklyn

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Just another newbie introduction...

Hi there!
I'm Brooklyn, I'm 25 years old and live in Melbourne, Australia.
I'm currently a full time student (Diploma of Youth Work)

I have 4 fish children. :fish2:
3 Rosy Barbs (1 female and 2 males)
and the newest addition to the tank is a little Bristlenose Catfish
(Also used to have a Ramshorn Snail but sadly he's no longer with us. :sad:)

So anyway... That's me. :)

Thank you to anyone that takes the time to even read this!
Hope you all have a great day.

Brooklyn :cat: xo

OH YEAH!
PS; Would getting another female Rosy Barb help with the whole Alpha Male battle I've got going on at the moment? I can only assume that introducing another female (to give both males a lady friend) wouldn't be such a bad idea... Right?! Any advice would be much appreciated!

Hey I did some research for you. Apprently it is recommended to at least keep five in a group.

From live aquaria: "The Rosy Barb is a schooling fish and enjoys being in numbers. If in a large enough school, they typically will not bother any other fish in the aquarium.

It is best, when trying to breed the Rosy Barb, to house two females with one male. Provide a coarse gravel in the breeding tank and after the eggs have been laid, remove the parents. The fry will hatch in approximately 3 days, at which time, they should be fed baby brine shrimp until large enough to accept crushed flake food."

From wikipedia: "They are best kept in groups of 5 or more in an aquarium with a length of at least 30 inches. They usually reach a maximum size of four inches. Using a dark-colored gravel will show off the color of the fish."
Tropical Freshwater Aquarium Fish: Rosy Barb, Male

Rosy barb best gender ratio [Archive] - Practical Fishkeeping Forum