Started off WRONG, need to get on right track.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matthew292

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey Everyone! New to the forum, kind of a long post and probably in the wrong thread. I don't normally post things, but am in need of advice.

I'm a Dad who got a 20 Gallon tank about 2 months ago because the kids really wanted some fish. I used to keep fish in College, so I have some experience (20 years ago) with good success, I think I recall loosing only 1 fish. (had 2 Angels, 3 Tiger barbs, 2 green barbs, 2 clown loaches, and a plex in a 20 gal) and had that tank running for a few years. But this go around, I seem to have started off wrong.
Set up the tank and let it sit for a week or so to get temp right. Added some bacteria (don't think that stuff works) and added 3 x-ray tetras (what the kids wanted). Left them in the tank for about a week then added 2 Otos and two more x-rays, left all that in the tank for a couple of weeks. Lost the runt x-ray within a couple of days, but he looked bad from the start.
Added a snail, 2 dwarf gourami's (both male, probably a mistake, don't listen to the pet store employees), and 3 red wag Platties (apparently 2 males and on female, I know right! What is this guy thinking!) All was well for a couple of weeks, then the tank started cycling, I was checking, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate levels with strips. (I know, those things don't work). Went through ammonia going up slightly, then nitrites, then nitrates got high. Went through a period of changing water daily to get nitrates down. During this period, I lost 1 oto and 3 more of the X-ray tetras. But the tank cycled and seemed to level off.