Total noob

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ai-no-kira88

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Howdy people, obviously I'm new to the site. I just really want to make sure i am taking care of my new fish correctly. I am kind of young so i am not able to get all of the things necessary for my new fish all at once. My older sis just brought home a betta that she won in a contest and gave it to me to take care of because she knows nothing about fish. i only knew the basics of what to get so i now have a heater, food a 5-gallon and 1- gallon tank set up with filters ornaments for the fish to hide behind. The betta is also in the tank with a common pleco. they seem to be getting along so im not very worried but i would like to know what else i could do to make sure regulus and ramses are happy :)

It can get around 18" big without stunting the fish from being in to small of a tank. It really.should be in a 55 gallon or bigger tank

Welcome to the forum! Sound like you're going to need a bigger tank... Or you could trade your pleco back to the fish store for a species that will work in a 10 gallon. Some small Cory cats might work. Good luck!

Thanks for telling me. I might just convince mi mum to get a bigger tank for the pl*co after sometime and see if cory cats will get along with my betta. I'll have to research it though, i wouldn't want any thing bad to happen to any of them.

Common plecos can get up to 2 feet long and as thick as coffee cans. Some people even say that they require tanks of at least 300 gallons. For cory cats, you'll need a ten gallon tank, and then you can only have pygmy cories. You should consider rehoming the pleco. A betta fish will be perfectly fine in a 5 gallon tank though.