very new to this..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FJohnson

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hello to you all.. I set up my 40 gallon tank beginning of August. maybe 2 weeks ago I added my first family of 7 small fish at one time.. 4 days later I had lost every fish in my tank.. took my water to a local and had them check it.. they told me my water was ideal .

I did a 50% water change rechecked it myself got great readings. 3 days ago I added a new family of 6 red platys.. they are looking happy and healthy.. how long should I wait before rechecking my water now that I have added these to the tank?

any suggestions? they seem to have a very hearty appetite

Thanks in advance (beginner here)

Hello

I would check today,if all is well check next week until you know your water is stable.I suggest only adding 1 or 2 fish at a time,good luck and enjoy your tank.

I would watch your fish alittle tonight. If they are not up at the top of tank acting like they're eating air then check it in the morning. You know the water is good. So everything should be fine. And what ever you do, don't over feed them. Too much waste becomes a problem all around. Watch your fish for signs. They will usually show you before you even think of testing the water. Welcome to A.A. good luck to you!

lighting

Thank you so much to each of you for the advice you have given me.. My tank is looking really nice and I have managed to get aobut 13 happy :fish2: in my tank..

I do have one other concern.. I have LED lighting over the top of the tank which I turn on from approx 8 am and turn it off at 10 pm.. is there a normal time of using the light ? am I overdoing the light? It also has a blue switch which kind of looks like a night light?

should I be concerned about the length of time running the light?

Thanks in advance