12G fluval edge from scratch

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kidnim

Aquarium Advice Newbie
noob here. i just ordered a 12g fluval edge for my birthday. i've always been interested in having an aquarium and decided to start with this relatively small tank.

i've been reading this forum (like this great guide) and other sites looking for some advice and i really want to take good care of the fish i bring into this aquarium and teach my daughter about the process. my longterm plan when we move in a year is to upgrade to a bigger tank and let my daughter take care of this one.

anyway, i figured i would just ask if what i'm investing in is off base. i literally have no gear at all and plan on being prepared when the tank arrives to cycle it fishless and get ready for the fish and plants. i'm going to post very specific things because despite many people asking specifics for this aquarium, i havent seen a good guide and maybe another noob like me would find it useful

here it goes. items to go with a brand new 12G tank:

gravel vacuum. i was gonna get the (fluval one) but would prefer the python one. my concern is it might be too strong for this smaller tank but i like the idea of not using buckets to fill the tank. both seem well reviewed but have read the fluval is designed for the 6G so might be too weak for a 12G.

filter sponge: fluval
i've read (this) is good if you get smaller fish so they don't get sucked up

filter foam: fluval
this is the filter foam designed for the filter. is this what you change when people say "change the filter"? is this the only option? how often do i change it? i've read weekly and monthly.

carbon sachet: fluval
this is the carbon sachet for the tank. again, is this the only option? is it necessary? how often do i change it? i've read in everywhere from weekly to only when it is destroyed.