29 Gallon Tank Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alshain

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm getting a bigger tank. I know this for sure, I just don't know how big yet. I may go with a 29 gallon. Here is what I've been piecing together for equipment. I welcome all suggestions since I'm fairly new to this, also if you know of places I can get better prices for this stuff then by all means, let me know and if you know a less expensive good looking black wood stand (must have doors), let me know. I am trying to keep as much equipment out of the tank as possible. So far I think all I have in the tank is the filter input/output and the thermometer lead.

www.drsfostersmith.com

Coralife Power Center Single - $19.99
XP1 FilStar Canister Filter - $59.99
2x 20lb Eco-Complete - $39.98
Coralife Digital Thermometer - $6.99
Hydor ETH In-Line Heater 200 watt, 5/8" - $39.99

Petsmart (local)

Top Fin 29 Gallon Black Trim Aquarium - $36.99
Perfecto Glass Canopy - ??

www.tricitytropicals.com

Satellite 30" 1x65 watt SunPaq with Lunar Light - $51.98
Docking Mounts - $3.98
65watt Dual Daylight 6700K/10,000K SunPaq - $20.98

DIY

Inline CO2 Reactor ~$15
Yeast Method CO2 Generator ~$2
29 Gallon Tank Stand - ~$30

I think thats all the equipment. I haven't started thinking about anything else yet.

It seems like you have a good handle on what you need. You may want to look at fluval or rena cannisters might save you a bit of money. Since you want to get a PC light fixture just make sure you get a glass top, dont buy the plastic fancy ones as you wont be able to use them. If you do do decide to go with a 55 gallon the DIY CO2 probably wont be enough so you will need to cost in the price of pressurized.

Good Luck!!

Fluval would take off about $20, Rena $10. Would the Eheim be worth the extra $20? I heard Eheim was the best so I figured it was worth it.