68gal Filtration

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr Burns

Aquarium Advice FINatic
i'm really new to the world of cannister filters. on my 29g, i have a UFG and a HOB and they do a great job at keep the water clear, so i've never paid much attention to cannisters. now that i'm going to have this 68g, i've gone ahead read a couple articles and FAQs about them. i have a few questions though. my tank is going to be a decently planted 68g with CO2, and a reasonable bioload (about 50-75% fish capacity) so i'd just like to get some suggestions on filters, how to hook them up in the tank, and what kind of media to use.

right now, i'm most interested in the Rena Filstar XP-3 or the Eheim 2226. both sound like great filters, but i'm wondering, do i need another form of filtration? i just have this gut feeling like i need something else, or that one cannister just isn't going to cut it. it's also my understanding that activated carbon isn't recommended for planted tanks, so i was wondering if something is needed for chemical filtration, unless my weekly water changes and the plants take care of that...

i'm also trying to figure out how you hook these things up, and if it's possible to have the input split to two different locations in the tank - one at about the 1/3 and 2/3 tank length marks. any suggestions/tricks for plumbing are appreciated.

lastly, how quiet/loud are cannister filters? the aquarium is in my bedroom so this is something i need to consider.

hmm..i can't think of anything else.

TIA!

You can trick out your plumbing at a local hardware store. I have not used those two filers, but I am a HUGE Fluval 404 fan, and you can get them for 80 dollars ( Print off petsmart.com's website price and take it to their store for a price match ) They are super easy to set up and maintain, and you can run any kind of media in them.